Danis-Weber classification


The Danis-Weber classification is a method of describing ankle fractures. It has three categories, based primarily upon the fracture of the fibula:

  • Type A. Fracture of the fibula distal to syndesmosis. An oblique medial malleolus fracture may also be present.
  • Type B. Fracture of the fibula at the level of the syndesmosis. These fractures may be stable or unstable, based upon the presence of deltoid ligament rupture or medial malleolus fracture.
  • Type C. Fracture of the fibula proximal to syndesmosis. These unstable fractures are generally associated with syndesmosis injuries, and may include medial malleolus fracture or deltoid ligament rupture.
Danis–Weber classification of ankle fractures (Types A, B and C)


1949Robert Danis published ‘Théorie et pratique de l’ostéosynthèse‘ providing early basis to classification

1972Bernhard Georg Weber developed and popularised classification system still used in practice today

Associated Persons

Alternative names
  • Weber classification

  • Danis-Weber classification system was first described by Robert Danis in 1949 and later modified and popularised by Bernhard Georg Weber in 1972, 10 years after Danis’ death.
  • This simple ankle fracture classification system is more commonly called the Weber ankle fracture classification
  • The Lauge-Hansen classification of rotational ankle fractures, based upon the position of the foot at time of injury, was described in 1950, 22 years prior to Weber’s description


Original articles

Historical review

eponymictionary CTA


the names behind the name

Dr Josh Howard - wannabe future orthopod, finding myself in Australia | LinkedIn

Emergency physician MA (Oxon) MBChB (Edin) FACEM FFSEM with a passion for rugby; medical history; medical education; and informatics. Asynchronous learning #FOAMed evangelist. Co-founder and CTO of Life in the Fast lane | Eponyms | Books | vocortex |

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.