Top online mechanical ventilation courses
Finding the best mechanical ventilation course online shouldn’t be the hardest part of mastering the vent. Mastering mechanical ventilation is already daunting enough so here are our choices of the best paid and #FOAMed resources available to help you.
Course Selection Criteria
- English language
- Easily accessible online, with no need for a formal application process
- Provide more than a collection of examples, references, and/or practice cases
- Relevant to most healthcare professionals, including physicians, advanced practice professionals, and nurses
- Providers must not prevent UK and EU residents from accessing their website
- Focus on adult critically ill patients (not paediatrics)
- Online (self-paced or live)
We gave top marks to mechanical ventilation courses that were offered online and self-paced, allowing you the flexibility to learn on your own schedule.
Top Paid Resources
1. Mayo Clinic – Online Self-Paced Course
The Mayo Clinic is a highly respected organisation in CME, providing a range of educational activities, including online options. They currently offer 1 online self-paced course on mechanical ventilation:
Mechanical Ventilation Online Course
- Offers in-depth, clinically relevant, physiology-driven mechanical ventilation training. Content includes ARDS management, modes of mechanical ventilation, and VILI prevention.
- Case-based content is included.
- Access available from the date of purchase until expiry on April 20, 2028.
- Designed for an audience of critical care professionals, such as RTs, physicians, PAs, nurses, and NPs.
- 25 lessons covered in 15 hours
- Jointly accredited by ACCME, ACPE, and ANCC
- 14.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, 14.75 ANCC credits, or 14.75 attendance credits
Although the total cost of the course is higher at 950 USD for 14.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, this amounts to 64.41 USD per CME credit, which is mechanical ventilation-specific and reasonable compared to several other options.
Pros
- Trusted organisation
- One of the few mechanical ventilation courses that is 100% focused on the topic
- Online and self-paced
- You can earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- Designed for a multidisciplinary audience
Cons
- On the more expensive side, though the cost per CME credit is reasonable.
- Access expires in April 2028
- Unclear if the course will be updated and re-released after 2028
Pricing
- 14.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ for 950 USD
- Works out to 64.41 USD per CME credit specific to mechanical ventilation, which is reasonable.
2. Society of Critical Care Medicine
The Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) was founded in 1970 and has offered its Fundamentals training program for over 25 years. The SSCM is a well-respected organisation within critical care medicine. The SCCM offers 2 self-paced online mechanical ventilation courses.
Airway and Mechanical Ventilation for the Critically Ill Patient
- Provides essential training for a multidisciplinary team involved in the management of mechanical ventilation.
- 12 online self-paced modules and a comprehensive eBook
- CME credits expire March 1, 2027
- 4.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, ACCME-accredited
- Multidisciplinary target audience
Fundamental Critical Care Support Self-Study – Online + eBook, 7th edition
- Allows learners to build skills needed to manage critically ill patients.
- CME credits expire October 1, 2027
- 6.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, ACCME-accredited
- This offering is not a dedicated mechanical ventilation course; the topic covers only a small portion of the overall curriculum.
- 22 modules, but only 2 modules are on mechanical ventilation
- Includes eBook
Pros
- Designed for a multidisciplinary audience
- ACCME-accredited CME credits
- Courses include eBooks
- The Airway and Mechanical Ventilation Course is one of the few mechanical ventilation courses that is primarily focused on this topic.
Cons
- More expensive
- The length of access after purchase is not stated on their website.
- Courses have expiry dates in 2027 for CME credits. However, the Fundamental Critical Care Support Online course has had 6 previous editions and will presumably continue to be updated (and hopefully other course offerings as well).
- The Fundamentals Critical Care Support (FCCS) course covers a wide range of topics, but only 2 modules focus on mechanical ventilation training.
- You need to create a free account to see all the details of their pricing.
- The ratings for their courses are on their own website, and there are very few reviews.
Pricing
Airway and Mechanical Ventilation for the Critically Ill Patient
- 4.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- 990 USD – Works out to 232.94 USD per CME credit, specific to mechanical ventilation
Fundamental Critical Care Support Online + eBook, 7th edition
- 6.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- 275 USD – Works out to 44 USD per CME credit, but only covers 2 modules on mechanical ventilation. So, the per-CME-credit cost specific to mechanical ventilation is much higher than this.
External Links
3. MedCram
MedCram was co-founded in 2012 by Roger Seheult, MD, and by Kyle Allred, PA-C, a primary care physician assistant. MedCram creates whiteboard-style online self-paced courses, some of which are CME-certified. Their courses are designed for a multidisciplinary audience.
They currently offer 4 mechanical ventilation courses:
Mechanical Ventilation Pearls Explained Clearly
- 2 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, ACCME-accredited
- 5 lessons, 5 quizzes
Mechanical Ventilation Explained Clearly
- 1.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, ACCME-accredited
- 5 lessons
Emergency Medicine/Critical Care “Survival Course”
- Approved for 10 CE credits by the California Board of Registered Nursing. You must check your local requirements to see if you can use this towards CE credits.
- Designed for nurses
- 5 sections covering wide topics in ER medicine, 1 section on mechanical ventilation that includes 5 lessons and 1 quiz
- 4 CE credits
- 2 sections, 13 lessons, 6 quizzes
Pros
- Online self-paced
- One of the few providers offering mechanical ventilation courses that are 100% focused on the topic.
- Reasonable prices, and some courses are free
- No expiration date for CE credits listed
- Can earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ with some courses
Cons
- Courses are short, which may not provide in-depth mechanical ventilation training.
- Only provides 3.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ for mechanical ventilation topics.
- CME-certified courses have expiration dates in 2027. However, these courses have expired in the past and have been updated and re-released. They will likely continue to do so.
- Not all of their courses are CME-certified
- Some of their courses are not designed for a multidisciplinary audience
- The “Survival Course” only contains 1 section on mechanical ventilation out of 5 sections; it’s not a dedicated mechanical ventilation course
Pricing
Pay per course to obtain 1-year access. Examples include:
- Mechanical Ventilation Explained Clearly
- 1.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- Price: Free
- Mechanical Ventilation Pearls Explained Clearly
- 2 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- Price: 49 USD/year. Works out to 24.50 USD per CME credit
- 1-year all access: 1 year unlimited access to 60+ CME hours valued at 1400 USD if each course is purchased individually, for the price of 229 USD.
- Works out to 3.81 USD per CME credit for the whole course catalogue
- 3-year all access: 3-year unlimited access to 60+ CME hours valued at 4200 USD if each course is purchased individually, for the price of 599 USD.
- Works out to 9.98 USD per CME credit for the whole course catalogue
External Links
4. Pulmonary and Sleep Academy
The Pulmonary and Sleep Academy (PSA) is an online CME platform developed by physician experts in pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine, offering online self-paced courses in speciality training for APPs, resident physicians, RTs, and medical students.
They offer 1 course that includes mechanical ventilation training:
Critical Care Medicine Academy
- Offers a broad review of pathophysiology and management of ICU patients
- Online self-paced lectures
- No expiry date listed for CME.
- Designed for a multidisciplinary audience, including APPs, medical students, residents, or any clinician needing a basic review of critical care.
- 22 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, 22 AAPA credits, and recognised by AANP and ANCC. EACCME has an agreement of mutual recognition of AMA credits.
- 10 sessions total. One session includes mechanical ventilation training, and a second on pulmonary emergencies.
- Cases are discussed, but the number of cases is not disclosed.
- 22 hours of material
Pros
- Online and self-paced.
- You have 2 years to complete the courses to earn CME/CE credits.
- You can earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- Access to course content is indefinite
- You can opt to purchase only the sessions in the course that interest you, which can save you money.
- Google star review of 5/5 stars, based on 6 reviews
- Prices are reasonable.
Cons
- Offers a more basic level of training, which may not be suitable for seasoned clinicians
- Unclear if there are any downloadable resources available.
- Unlike other mechanical ventilation courses on this list, only a small portion of this course covers the topic (2 out of 10 sessions).
Pricing
One-time payment of 345 USD for the full course, including 22 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. This works out to 15.68 USD per CME credit. However, the cost per mechanical ventilation-specific CME is higher (see below).
You also have the option to purchase only the sections of the course of interest to you. For mechanical ventilation training, that would be Session 1, and if you wanted a bit more learning, Session 2 could also be useful, as follows:
- Session 1 (Respiratory Failure and Mechanical Ventilation): 105 USD, 3.5 CME credits
- Session 2 (Pulmonary Emergencies): 68 USD, 2.25 CME credits
- Total: 173 USD, 5.75 CME credits
- Works out to 30 USD per CME credit for Session 1 only, and 30.09 USD per CME credit for both Sessions 1 and 2. These prices reflect the cost per CME credit specific to mechanical ventilation.
External Links
5. Cleveland Clinic SEVAⓇ Program
The Cleveland Clinic created the SEVAⓇ Program (Standard Education for Ventilatory Assistance) to provide essential skills for the management of mechanical ventilation.
To receive a certificate, learners must complete both online and in-person sessions. We will focus on the standalone online mechanical ventilation course option, which does not provide certification. You can receive CME credits (AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™) if you choose to enrol in a certification track later (e.g., by attending in-person sessions). The online-only option is self paced (no CME credits).
This program is designed for a multidisciplinary audience, including students, APPs, nurses, and ICU physicians. The online portions of the program include:
- SEVAⓇ basic: covers basic concepts of mechanical ventilation
- SEVAⓇ theory: covers physics and physiology of mechanical ventilation, as well as a review of the modes of mechanical ventilation
- SEVAⓇ lab: allows you to practice concepts and waveform analysis using a simulator
Pros
- The program is solely focused on mechanical ventilation training
- Designed for a multidisciplinary audience
- From a highly respected organisation
- The online option is self-paced
- Access to the waveform analysis simulator
- Affordable prices
Cons
- Cannot earn any CME credits for the online-only option.
- Information that is not listed on their website:
- Number of lessons, cases, or quizzes in the online mechanical ventilation course option
- Length of course, in hours
- Access to downloadable resources
- Length of access to course content after purchase
Pricing
One-time payment for online-only content
- Physician: 100 USD
- APP: 100 USD
- Resident: 75 USD
- RT, and other allied health: 75 USD
- Pursuing certification for a physician costs between 400 and 900 USD, depending on the level of certification sought (fundamental, advanced, or master)
6. BMJ Learning
BMJ Learning offers online courses on a range of topics to help learners expand their knowledge throughout their careers. Their courses are accredited, and the BMJ is a trusted source in medicine. They offer 1 online mechanical ventilation course:
Introduction to mechanical ventilation
- Short, online basic mechanical ventilation course to provide introductory and basic principles
- Designed for medical students, residents, hospital physicians, and nurses
- Provides 1 UK CPD point. Always check with your local regulatory body to see if UK CPD credits are accepted.
- No expiry date listed for CPD credits. Their website states the course was updated Feb. 27, 2023.
- 1 hour of content
Pros
- Self-paced, online format
- One of the few mechanical ventilation courses that is 100% focused on the topic
- For a multidisciplinary audience
- Highly respected source
- Reviews on their own platform: 5/5 stars based on 399 reviews
Cons
- A basic mechanical ventilation course may not be well-suited to experienced clinicians.
- UK CPD credit may not be accepted in all countries. Find out where BMJ learning CPD is accepted here.
- Only provides 1 hour of content
- Requires a free profile to see details of course pricing
- Requires membership to access content
Pricing
- You must have a BMJ Learning subscription to gain access to this mechanical ventilation course for £13.99/month, or if billed per year, £114 (which is £9.50/month)
External Links
7. Creighton University
Creighton University, based in Omaha, Nebraska, is known for its health sciences programs. They offer 2 online self-paced courses, 1 of which is a mechanical ventilation course.
Mechanical Ventilation Essentials: Principles, Modes, and Patient-Centered Strategies
- 1-2 hours of content, including a discussion of modes of mechanical ventilation
- 2 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, 2 hours of nursing CE, or 2 hours pharmacy CE
- Price: 25 USD
Advanced Critical Care Therapeutics
- 16 self-paced online modules
- Focus is on the pharmacologic management of acute diseases like stroke, ACS, etc
- 30 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, 30 hours of nursing CE, or 30 hours pharmacy CE
- If you’re looking for a dedicated mechanical ventilation course, note that this topic makes up only a small portion of the curriculum.
- Only 1 out of 18 sections covers mechanical ventilation, but you can purchase this section on its own as above (Mechanical Ventilation Essentials)
Pros
- Affordable prices.
- Courses are jointly accredited by ACCME, ACPE, and ANCC
- Designed for a multidisciplinary audience
- If you’re not interested in taking the entire Advanced Critical Care Therapeutics course, you can opt just to take the Mechanical Ventilation Essentials course, which is a part of the Advanced Critical Care Therapeutics course.
- The Mechanical Ventilation Essentials course is one of the few mechanical ventilation courses that is 100% focused on the topic.
Cons
- The Mechanical Ventilation Essentials course only offers 2 hours of content, which may not be suitable for those seeking a more advanced mechanical ventilation course.
- It’s unclear how long you have access to course materials after purchase. However, the Advanced Critical Care Therapeutics course states that most learners complete the course within 12 months.
- No expiry date listed for AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, but the ACPE credits expire September 15, 2028. There have been gaps in enrollment in the past, presumably when they were updating course content.
- Limited course offerings.
Pricing
Mechanical Ventilation Essentials
- 2 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- 25 USD. Works out to 12.50 USD per CME credit
Advanced Critical Care Therapeutics
- 30 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- 400 USD. Works out to 13.33 USD per CME credit. However, the cost per mechanical ventilation-specific CME would be higher.
8. Mechanical Ventilation Training Institute
The Mechanical Ventilation Training Institute (MVTI) was founded in 2022 and specialises in mechanical ventilation education.
They offer 3 courses. The Prehospital Ventilator Life Support (PHVLS) course is an in-person course designed for EMS professionals. The Advanced Ventilator Life Support (AVLS)™ is another in-person advanced mechanical ventilation course designed for multidisciplinary clinicians working in the Emergency Department.
The Basic Ventilator Life Support (BVLS) course is the only online course offered by MVTI, and is a basic mechanical ventilation course providing:
- A comprehensive foundation on mechanical ventilation
- Self-paced online format
- 6 h of lessons
- Quizzes and downloadable study guide
- 8 hours of CE for EMS and nurses
- 3-year certification
Pros
- More affordable price
- One of the few mechanical ventilation courses that is 100% focused on the topic
Cons
- No CME credits provided for any of their courses
- Offers only 1 mechanical ventilation course online
- Offerings are generally limited.
Pricing
- The only online course costs 197 USD for 1-year access
- Live course prices are higher. For example, the Advanced Ventilator Life Support (AVLS)™ costs 7500 USD for a workshop for multiple learners. Prices are subject to change depending on the number of days needed and if the location is outside the continental US.
External Links
9. Oakstone CME
Oakstone CME has provided CME through partnerships with renowned institutions, including Harvard and the Cleveland Clinic, for over 45 years. They focus on providing CME in self-paced formats with 24/7 access. Currently, they offer 1 online course that includes mechanical ventilation training:
The Brigham Board Review and Comprehensive Update in Critical Care Medicine
- Scoping review of critical care topics
- Online self-paced, video-based
- Created by faculty at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston
- 26.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- 12 sections total, each with a few lessons. Only 1 section (Respiratory Failure) covers mechanical ventilation training.
Pros
- Release date set for July 31, 2026. This course has just been updated.
- No expiry date listed for CME credits. Previous versions of this course have been released and updated.
- You can earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™.
Cons
- The length of access is not listed, but the website states that if you do not pass your board exams after completing a course, they offer extended access to the content or credit toward another board review program.
- Expensive
- If you’re looking for a dedicated mechanical ventilation course, note that this topic makes up only a small portion of the curriculum.
Pricing
- 1195 USD (additional fees apply for USB copy of course and/or printed syllabus)
- Works out to 45.09 USD per CME credit. However, the cost per mechanical ventilation-specific CME would be higher.
10. Hospital Procedures Consultants
Hospital Procedures Consultants (HPC) offers evidence-based procedural education designed for healthcare professionals working in emergency departments, hospitalist services, and ICUs. This company was founded by 2 physicians, Joseph Esherick and Richard Rutherford, who have been teaching this material for a combined 35+ years.
HPC offers both live in-person and online self-paced courses. Their current course offerings related to mechanical ventilation training include:
Hospitalist and Emergency Procedures Online CME Course, 4th edition
- 23 online modules covering the 20 most common bedside procedures in the ER, ICU, and hospital wards
- 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, ACCME-accredited
- Procedures covered include mechanical ventilation and noninvasive ventilation as part of the 20 topics
- Includes HPC Procedure Video bundle featuring 27 videos, PDFs of all lectures, a handout summarising airway management, a primer on POCUS exams, Adult Critical Care and Emergency Drug Reference Card, and a PDF of all 600 references cited in the course
Noninvasive and Mechanical Ventilation Course On-Demand
- Mechanical ventilation course online
- Video course
- No CME credits
Pros
- The Hospitalist and Emergency Procedures Online Course is CME-certified
- Designed for a multidisciplinary audience
- Access to videos is indefinite
- There is 1 online course centred on mechanical ventilation training
- Prices are more reasonable
Cons
- The Hospitalist and Emergency Procedures Online Course is not a dedicated mechanical ventilation course. It’s unclear how much theory about mechanical ventilation is covered since this course is designed to teach learners about procedures.
- CME credits expire June 10, 2026. This is the 4th edition of the Hospitalist and Emergency Procedures Online Course, and the course has been updated 3 times previously. Presumably, that will continue. The website states they have planned updates every 12 months.
- The online mechanical ventilation course (on-demand) is not CME-certified
Pricing
- Hospitalist and Emergency Procedures Online CME Course, 4th edition
- 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- 595 USD. Works out to 37.19 USD per CME credit. However, the cost per mechanical ventilation-specific CME would be higher.
- Sales are final
- Noninvasive and Mechanical Ventilation Course On-Demand
- No CME
- 49.95 USD
External Links
10. CHEST
CHEST, or the American College of Chest Physicians, is a well-respected professional association that provides education to pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine healthcare professionals.
They offer 1 relevant online course related to mechanical ventilation training:
Essential Critical Care Concepts for APPs
- An on-demand lecture series to provide an understanding of critical care medicine concepts, covering a wide variety of topics. Target audience: APPs
- Offers 23.25 credits for AANPCB points, RN credit, PA credit, or CME/CE credit. Over 23 hours of content
- 9 topics total with over 23 hours of content. Course description mentions respiratory failure and mechanical ventilation as included content
CHEST also offers a ventilator simulation game called Alarmed! A Ventilator Game.
- This game is available as part of the CHEST e-Learning Library subscription.
- Allows you to practice mechanical ventilation theory, interpret ventilator waveforms, and compare physiologic changes across modes of mechanical ventilation
- No CME credit. Online, on-demand format.
Pros
- Trusted and well-respected source for CE and CME
- Can earn CE or CME credits with the Essential Critical Care Concepts for APPs course
- The Alarmed! A Ventilator Game option
- The on-demand format allows for flexibility
Cons
- The Essential Critical Care Concepts for APPs course is designed for APPs, and not for a multidisciplinary audience. However, it does allow learners to earn a variety of credits.
- If you’re looking for a dedicated mechanical ventilation course, note that this topic accounts for only a small portion of the Essential Critical Care Concepts for APPs curriculum.
- The Alarmed! A Ventilator Game option does not offer any CME credits
- You need a CHEST account to see the course offerings
- Unclear if there are any downloadable resources included with the course
Pricing
Essential Critical Care Concepts for APPs. One-tyme payment for 1-year access as follows:
- Physicians: 829 USD for CHEST members, 1099 USD for nonmembers. Works out to 47.27 USD per CME credit for nonmembers, or 50.24 USD per CME credit for CHEST members with a basic membership
- However, the cost per mechanical ventilation-specific CME would be higher.
- APPs and RTs: 399 USD for CHEST members, 499 USD for nonmembers
- CHEST membership fees depend on your professional category (physician, NP, PA, RT, fellow, etc.) and your country of residence. Here are examples of prices:
- Physician in the US: 339 USD/year for basic, 449 USD/year for enhanced, 559 USD/year for premium
- Resident in the US: 114 USD/year for basic, 224 USD/year for enhanced, 334 USD/year for premium
e-Learning Library Subscription
- Offers learning on a variety of pulmonary topics, including Alarmed! A Ventilator Game
- Some items provide CME credit, and others do not
- Access expires 1 year after purchase
- Includes 12.25 CME credits, but none are mechanical ventilation-related.
- Costs 109 USD for CHEST members, and 219 USD for nonmembers
External Links
11. American Seminar Institute
The American Seminar Institute (ASI) has been around for over 40 years, offering accredited continuing education in a self-paced format.
They offer 1 course that includes mechanical ventilation training:
- Audio format, self-paced
- Audience: pulmonologists, emergency physicians, family practitioners, paediatricians, internists, general practitioners, APPs, and nurses
- 2 course length options are offered: full 14 days or short 7 days (2 versions of short option are offered, A or B)
- Covers multiple pulmonary topics, which include a discussion of mechanical ventilation (included in the full version and Short – Part A). There are 10 topics in the full version, and Short – Part A has 5 topics.
- The full course provides 20 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, while Short – Part A provides 10 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™.
- Price: 735 USD for the full course, 580 USD for the short course
Pros
- Self-paced
- Ability to earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- Flexibility to choose between the shorter and full versions of the course
Cons
- The audio format may not suit all learners.
- This is not a dedicated mechanical ventilation course; the topic covers only a small portion of the overall curriculum.
- Expiry date of September 13, 2026 for CME credits. We could not verify whether previous versions of this course were offered. However, the website states that they regularly update and add new courses.
- It’s unclear how long access to materials lasts after purchase.
- Based on 10 Google reviews, ASI has a rating of 3.4/5 stars.
Pricing
- 735 USD for the full course
- Works out to 36.75 USD per CME credit. However, the cost per mechanical ventilation-specific CME would be higher.
- 580 USD for the short course
- Works out to 58 USD per CME credit. However, the cost per mechanical ventilation-specific CME would be higher.
External Links
12. Mayo Clinic – Online Live Course
The Mayo Clinic offers 1 live mechanical ventilation course online.
Mayo Clinic Mechanical Ventilation Conference 2026
- A mechanical ventilation conference on adult, paediatric, and neonatal management of mechanical ventilation. Also includes advanced topics. Happening from December 8-11, 2026, in Snowbird, Utah, USA.
- Attendance options include live in-person or live online
- Designed for a varied audience, including physicians, RTs, mid-level providers, NPs, nurses, and PAs working in critical care
- Lasts 3.5 days
- If you missed the latest conference, it appears this has been an annual event since 2019 and should continue as such.
- Jointly accredited by ACCME, ACPE and ANCC.
- You can earn up to 29.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, 29.25 AANA credits, 29.25 AAPA Category 1 credits, 29.25 ANCC credits, or 29.25 ABIM – Medical Knowledge credits.
Pros
- Trusted organisation
- Online mechanical ventilation course option
- One of the few mechanical ventilation courses that is 100% focused on the topic
- You can earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- Designed for a multidisciplinary audience
Cons
- On the more expensive side
- With the live virtual format, you must be available on the specified dates.
- Includes paediatric topics, which may not apply to all clinicians. The core curriculum includes 23 adult sessions out of a total of 33 sessions.
- Workshops can only be attended in person.
Pricing
One-time payment, whether virtual or in-person:
- Physicians: 1295 USD for 18 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ (core curriculum only). Works out to 71.94 USD per CME credit that is specific to mechanical ventilation
- Allied health (PA, NP, etc.) outside Mayo Clinic: 1095 USD
- Allied health within Mayo Clinic: 850 USD
- Student, resident: 850 USD
- An additional fee of 250 USD for each workshop (in-person only)
- If attending in person, all travel and lodging expenses are in addition to the above-mentioned fees.
13. Mechanical Ventilation Course
The Mechanical Ventilation Course provides a broad review of invasive and noninvasive ventilation, physiology, best practices, and disease-specific considerations. It is presented by the Interdepartmental Division of Critical Care Medicine, from the University of Toronto, a highly respected institution in medical education.
This mechanical ventilation course can be attended in person (in Toronto, Canada) or live virtually. The last iteration of the course was held in April 2026. This course has been offered annually since 2020 and will presumably continue to be offered annually.
For those seeking a mechanical ventilation course online, the virtual attendance option makes it accessible regardless of location.
- 24 sessions and 4 case discussions, over 3 days
- Audience: ICU interprofessional team, including physicians, RTs, nurses, PTs
- Focuses solely on adult mechanical ventilation training
- Hands-on mechanical ventilation workshop sessions available for in-person attendance only
- Offers CME credits: Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and Canadian Critical Care Society (17.5 hours in person, 13 hours virtual); Canadian Society of Respiratory Therapists CPD credits (17.5 CPD credits in-person, 13 CPD credits virtual).
- The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons has international CPD agreements for physicians outside Canada. Always check with your local governing body regarding CME requirements.
Pros
- There is a virtual option
- Prices are reasonable, given that they are in CAD.
- Trusted organisation
- One of the few mechanical ventilation courses that is 100% focused on the topic
- Offered annually
Cons
- You must be available to attend on the specified dates, given the live virtual format.
- The CPD credits may not be recognised by your local authority, depending on where you are located.
- Hands-on sessions are not available online.
Pricing
One-time payment. The prices listed below are based on 2026 rates:
- Physician: 800 CAD plus tax. Works out to 61.54 CAD per CME credit for virtual attendance (does not include tax). This is equivalent to 44.50 USD per CME credit based on exchange rates at the time of writing this article.
- RTs and allied health professionals: 500 CAD plus tax
- Fellows, residents: 400 CAD plus tax
External Links
14. Harvard CME
Harvard’s CME is highly respected in medical education, offering an extensive course catalogue to facilitate lifelong learning.
For those seeking a mechanical ventilation course online, Harvard offers 1 option with enough coverage of the topic to make this list.
Principles of Critical Care for Non-Intensive Care Specialists
- Live online format from September 15-18, 2026.
- Provides an essential review of current critical care medicine for non-intensivists, including mechanical ventilation training.
- Diverse audience including physicians across multiple specialities (ER, hospitalist, family medicine, ICU, cardiology, OB/GYN, surgeon, anaesthesia), NPs, nurses, pharmacists, and PAs
- Provides 39.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, which are recognised by NCCPA for PAs, AANP for NPs, and ANCC for nurses and also recognised by the European Union of Medical Specialists and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.
- 76 sessions over 4 days plus 2.25 hours of self-study.
- 10 of these sessions are related to mechanical and noninvasive ventilation
Pros
- Trusted organisation
- You can earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™
- Presentation recordings and course materials are available until Feb. 1, 2027 (about 5 months after the live course). This is an option that many live mechanical ventilation courses do not offer.
- Closed captions in Spanish, French, and Portuguese are available, making it a good option for non-English speakers.
- Designed for a multidisciplinary audience.
Cons
- If you’re looking for a dedicated mechanical ventilation course, note that this topic makes up only a small portion of the curriculum.
- You must be available on the specified dates as this is a live online format.
- This course is not designed for critical care clinicians.
- More expensive
- We were unable to verify whether this course has been offered previously or if it will be offered in the future.
Pricing
One-time payment of 1285 USD if you register by July 31, 2026. After this, the price increases to 1385 USD. This course includes 39.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™.
- Works out to 32.74 USD per CME credit for early-bird pricing and 35.27 USD per CME credit for regular pricing.
- However, the cost per mechanical ventilation-specific CME would be significantly higher.
Final verdict
Every mechanical ventilation course on this list has something unique to offer. The Cleveland Clinic SEVA® Program is worth considering if you want a simulator-based, hands-on learning experience. If you’re looking for a live, conference-style format with the highest CME credit yield, the Mayo Clinic Mechanical Ventilation Conference or the University of Toronto’s Mechanical Ventilation Course are excellent choices.
That said, our top pick for the best mechanical ventilation course online is the Mayo Clinic Mechanical Ventilation Online Course. It’s self-paced, solely focused on mechanical ventilation, and delivers in-depth, physiology-driven content from one of the most trusted names in medicine. With 14.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ and a reasonable cost per CME credit that is specific to mechanical ventilation, it offers strong value, despite a higher upfront price. Access runs until April 2028, giving you plenty of time to work through its 15 hours of case-based content.
If you want a broader review of critical care alongside mechanical ventilation training, the SCCM’s Fundamental Critical Care Support course or the Pulmonary and Sleep Academy’s Critical Care Medicine Academy may be a better fit.
Free #FOAMed resources on mechanical ventilation
Although we didn’t find any free ultrasound training providers that met 100% of our inclusion criteria, we wanted to ensure you still have some FOAMed resources to get you started. Here are some options:
1. LITFL resources
LITFL’s Critical Care Compendium comprehensively covers core critical care topics. There are 52 articles on ventilation.
2. Internet Book of Critical Care from PulmCrit (EMCrit)
The Internet Book of Critical Care (IBCC) is an online textbook written by Josh Farkas, MD, associate professor of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at the University of Vermont. Chapters of interest on mechanical ventilation include:
3. Society of Mechanical Ventilation
An organisation dedicated to free medical education on the topic of mechanical ventilation. Their board of directors are a multidisciplinary group of healthcare professionals in Hawaii. They have a free video lecture library.
4. REBEL EM
REBEL EM (Rational Evidence-Based Evaluation of Literature in Emergency Medicine) was founded in 2013 by Salim Rezaie, MD FACEP, an emergency and internal medicine physician, to decrease the gap between the latest research and clinical practice.
They have several articles on mechanical ventilation, including their series called Simplifying Mechanical Ventilation.
5. Cleveland Clinic SEVAⓇ VentRounds
Free bimonthly live conference to expand and maintain knowledge of mechanical ventilation. Held every 2nd and 4th Tuesday at 2 PM EST, for 30-minute sessions.
6. ICU Learning
Website created by Sami Safadi, MD, an associate professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine at the University of Minnesota, with a background in internal medicine, nephrology, and critical care.
Provides an online mechanical ventilation simulator and video tutorials.
7. ATS Breathe Easy Podcast
A weekly podcast from the American Thoracic Society focused on pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine. Example, Episode on mechanical ventilation in ARDS
8. ICU REACH
A platform providing free education on critical care topics. They offer 2 free courses on mechanical ventilation.
9. ICU OnePager
One-page summaries of critical care topics by Nick Mark, MD. Relevant topics for mechanical ventilation include:
- Overview of Ventilator Modes
- ARDS
- Noninvasive Positive Pressure Ventilation
- Weaning from the Ventilator
Additional Resources
- Top 20 online ECG / EKG Courses
- The best online echocardiography courses
- Top online mechanical ventilation courses
- Top online POCUS courses
- Top 10 AI courses for clinicians
- The 18 best online ultrasound courses
- The 18 best computed tomography courses
MBChB - Liverpool. RMO in Emergency Medicine at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, currently soaking up the sun down under. Aiming to pursue a career in anaesthetics.
BA MA (Oxon) MBChB (Edin) FACEM FFSEM. Emergency physician, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital. Passion for rugby, medical history, medical education, and asynchronous learning #FOAMed evangelist. Editor-in-Chief and Webmaster of Life in the Fast lane, LITFL | On Call 4e| Eponyms | Books | Horology |


