Henry Hill Hickman Medal


The Henry Hill Hickman Medal, is awarded every three years to individuals for original work of outstanding merit in anaesthesia. It is awarded by the by the Council of the Royal Society of Medicine on the recommendation of the Council of the Section of Anaesthetics.

Henry Hill Hickman Medal 2016 Martin Bromiley
Henry Hill Hickman Medal [Martin Bromiley 2016]


In 1931, England’s Royal Society of Medicine founded the Henry Hill Hickman Medal in honour of Henry Hill Hickman (1800-1830). The first medal was awarded in 1935 to the Canadian anesthetist Wesley Bourne (1886 – 1965).

Henry Hill Hickman Medal main
Henry Hill Hickman Medal [Ralph Waters’ Medal 1944]

Dates and Data originally provided by Dr Geoff Nunn (2020)


the names behind the name

Doctor currently working in South Wales, training in anaesthetics. Graduated Leeds University with MB ChB with BSc in microbiology in relation to medicine. Special interests in emergency medicine, critical care and anaesthetics

BA MA (Oxon) MBChB (Edin) FACEM FFSEM. Emergency physician, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital.  Passion for rugby; medical history; medical education; and asynchronous learning #FOAMed evangelist. Co-founder and CTO of Life in the Fast lane | Eponyms | Books | Twitter |

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.